Toot Home



Fall Toot

About This Toot

Class Schedule

Prices and Other Details

Featured Faculty

Register Online



Previous Toots

back to this year

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998
 
The Fall Toot Online!
Nov 20-22, 2020

Despite the pandemic, we are still here! And we hope you are staying safe and healthy in this most stressful of times.

November 21 and 22, 2020
Registration Now Open!

AEM ONLINE hosts the FALL 2020 TEXAS TOOT!
November 20-22

Directed by: Danny Johnson and Susan Richter
Faculty
Mary Springfels, Frances Blaker, Tish Berlin, Jennifer Carpenter, Peter Maund, Saskia Coolen, Annette Bauer, Sarah Mead, Christa Patton, Ros Morley, Patricia Ann Neely, Priscilla Herreid.

Click here to see the complete list of classes
Click here to register!

Register for any number of sessions - classes are $25 per session. After you register, you will receive an email with a link to a webpage for each class, where you can access music and any other class materials, along with the Zoom session link (which will be added 24 hours before the class). Workshop pitch is A = 440.
Class sessions are offered using the Zoom meeting app, or your web browser. Class sessions run 90 minutes, with 15 minutes for introductions and last minute tech help, and 75 minutes of class time. New to Zoom? Join us on Friday afternoon for a Zoom Tutorial session.
Late Afternoon Events: Friday evening Social Hour and Sunday late afternoon Toot Faculty Concert (free!).

Class Schedule
Saturday, November 21
12:00 p.m. Eastern / 11:00 a.m. Central / 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time
Bicinia and Canzonets: Music for Two with Annette Bauer
Madame Anonymous and Doctor Obscure: unfamiliar but beautiful viol consorts from 16th century England with Ros Morley

2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time
From the Ground Up in England and Germany: In Nomines and Tenorlieder with Tish Berlin
Medieval meters, modes and melodies with Peter Maund

4:00 p.m. Eastern / 3:00 p.m. Central / 1:00 p.m. Pacific Time
Come to a Ceilidh! with Jennifer Carpenter
Chace that poet with Mary Springfels

Sunday, November 22
12:00 p.m. Eastern / 11:00 a.m. Central / 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time
Jacob van Eyck and the art of variation with Saskia Coolen
Helter Schmelzer! with Patricia Ann Neely

2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time
Madrigal Mystery Tour with Priscilla Herreid
17th century Spanish dances with Christa Patton

4:00 p.m. Eastern / 3:00 p.m. Central / 1:00 p.m. Pacific Time
Making It Up! with Frances Blaker
A Feast for the Eyes, A Boon for the Brain with Sarah Mead

Fees Classes are $25 each.
Late Afternoon Events: Friday evening Social Hour and Sunday late afternoon Toot Faculty Concert are free.

SUNDAY FACULTY CONCERT! 6:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:30 p.m. Central / 3:30 p.m. Pacific Time (Free!)

We're not sure what the coming year will bring, but we hope there will be joyous celebration of playing together in person once again! If not, then at least (necessity being the mother of invention) enterprising people have made great leaps in technology, letting us come virtually together to play the music we love.

For over forty years, we've been holding workshops and providing early music fun and learning for amateurs and aficionados alike! The Fall Toot is normally held at Lakeview Methodist Conference Center near Palestine, Texas.

Additional Contact Info

The Texas Toot
Daniel Johnson, Workshop Director
Susan Richter, Assistant Director

Feel free to write, call, or email us if you have questions or need further information.

Danny Johnson
Attn: Texas Toot
PO Box 4328
Austin TX 78765

Phone: (512) 578-8040
Email: info@toot.org

     
Comments or questions about this site? webmaster@toot.org
Web work by Bent Sound Research, based heavily on the work of Westryn Internet Services.